With forty five minutes until I have to leave for work I figured I’d sit down and write a little impromptu post dedicated to dreamers and go-getters.

Who am I referring to?

Dreamers and go-getters, in my world, are those people who have their undying focus on something greater than themselves– a goal that they are striving for. For me, these are people like Will Smith, Jim Carrey, Robin Williams, and Kai Greene. They all have their eyes on something much bigger than themselves– although Kai, being a stand-out bodybuilder, is actually quite large.

They dedicate themselves selflessly to something, and usually it is not materialistic or superficial. For example, Jim Carrey realized his goal in life was to release people from worry and concern, and dubbed his devotion the Church of FFC (Freedom From Concern). Now I don’t know about you, but most people I know have a hard time being upset while also laughing hysterically at a good Jim Carrey movie. So I guess he’s stayed true to his life’s devotion.

Someone else that I would easily deem a dreamer and go-getter is a good friend of mine, and many of you may know him if you attended Coon Rapids High School with me. A non-celebrity example (although he may be one, one day) would be Juan Suarez. If I’ve met anyone in my life who embodied selfless ambition it’s Juan. Voted “Everybody’s Friend” our senior year of high school, Juan was a guy who walked through the halls with enthusiasm, energy, and a contagious smile. He wasn’t ever afraid to go after what he wanted and he constantly would push others to do the same. From being extremely involved academically and extra-curricularly (is that a word?), to chasing his own goals while also going out of his way to help others any way he could, Juan was (and I know still is) a constant inspiration and motivation to myself and others.

The point of what I’m writing

I wish I was totally sure myself. Most of my posts wind up being quite a bit different than I initially plan them to be.

I guess it’s just a little something to thank those people who are shining lights for those of us who, from time to time, get lost in the dark. I notice with dreamers and go-getters that they are never putting down others– I don’t think they would even contemplate it. They shoot for the stars and pull with them as many other people as they can, and they never complain about anyone else interrupting their goals or slowing them down.

The dreamers and go-getters out there inspire me and make me want to become a better version of myself each and every day. They have, countless times, led me by example– without knowing it– out of very dark times and I can’t thank them enough. One day I hope to be one of them.

Danny P Writes

